Publishing and copying content items

In this release we've added two new features accessible from a content item's contextual menu: publishing and copying.

You can now choose to publish individual content items immediately without scheduling that content for publication using an edition. This feature is particularly useful when:

  • Your workflow does not take advantage of scheduling content using editions
  • You want to quickly update one or more pieces of content that have previously been published to a slot within an edition and you don't want to create a new edition just for the updated items

Publishing content items

There are two ways of publishing a content item, by choosing 'Publish' from the contextual menu in the content library or from the 'Save' menu in the content editing window. When a content item is published, the publish status is shown on the item's card, with a green tick indicating that the latest version is published.

In the example below, we want to publish the Summer sunglasses content item, so we choose "Publish" from the item's contextual menu.

Choosing an item to publish
Choosing an item to publish

A dialog is displayed asking to confirm the publish operation. When an item is published, any assets contained within it and each linked content item is published at the same time. This includes media such as images or video included within the content and other content items that this item contains. For example, if you have a carousel that contains individual carousel slides, each stored as separate content items, each of these slides will be published with the carousel.

If more than one content item is published as a result of publishing the 'parent' item, then you will need to refresh the content library window for the publishing status of the linked items to be updated.

Confirming publish
Confirming publish

On clicking the Publish button, the publishing operation starts. A progress indicator is displayed in the top left of the item being published.

Publish in progress
Publish in progress

When the item is published the publish status icon is updated to a green tick. The latest version of the content item is now published to our Content Delivery Network (CDN) and available to consume in a website or from an app or e-commerce system. This will replace any previous published version of the content.

The latest version is published
The latest version is published

Updating content published to slots

In some cases you might have populated an edition with content and scheduled it to go live. Once the content is published you decide that one piece of content needs to be updated. Perhaps you need to use a new image for a banner, or update the text in a blog post. You might choose to create a new edition and include just those slots containing the content that needs to be updated, or you can just publish a new version of those content items.

In the example below an edition has been scheduled and content has been published to its slots on the edition start date. One of the content items is a banner, as shown in the image.

Content published to a slot
Content published to a slot

When viewed in the content library, the publish status icon is a green tick, indicating that the latest version of this content is published. To update this content double-click to open the content editing window.

The latest version of the content is published
The latest version of the content is published

A new image has been chosen and the content saved. Notice that the publishing status icon is now a green cloud, because we have updated the content and the published content is no longer the latest version.

The content is updated
The content is updated

To publish the latest version of the content, choose "Publish" from the "Save" menu. Note that if the content had not been saved then this item would be named "Save and Publish".

Publishing the updated content
Publishing the updated content

The content is now published and the publish status icon changes to a green tick.

This is now the latest published version
This is now the latest published version

The updated banner is now available and can be consumed from our website, replacing the version published when the edition went live.

Consuming the updated content
Consuming the updated content

Copying content items

To make a copy of a piece of content, choose "Copy" from the item's contextual menu in the content library. You'll be asked to give the copy a name and a new copy of the selected content will be added to the content library with the name you've chosen. Note that you currently need to refresh the window for the copied item to be displayed.

The new copy will include references to the same content items as the original, so if you make a copy of a carousel and then make a change to one of the carousel slides it contains, then both the original content and the copy will be updated.

In the example below we want to copy a banner item, so choose "Copy" from the item's menu.

Choosing an item to copy
Choosing an item to copy

We give the new content a name and click OK to create the copy.

Entering a name for the new item
Entering a name for the new item

After refreshing the window the new content item is shown in the content library.

The new item in the content library
The new item in the content library

results matching ""

    No results matching ""