Assigning content items

You can assign content items (or slots) to one or more users and filter the Content Library by assignee, making it easier to focus on the items they you need to work on. On this page we'll explain how to use the assign content item feature in detail.

Assigning content

To assign a content item, or change the assignees, choose "Assign to" from the item's contextual menu. You can assign the item to yourself as well as to one or more other users. Note that the current user is always shown as "Me".

From the assign to window you can choose from a list of recent users to whom you've assigned content, or find another user by typing their name in the search box, as shown in the example below.

Assign the content item to a user by clicking the checkbox next to their name and un-assign the item by deselecting the checkbox.

Choose assign to from an item's contextual menu to choose one or more users to assign the item to
Choose assign to from an item's contextual menu to choose one or more users to assign the item to

You can also assign a content item from the content editing window by clicking the assign icon, as shown in the image below.

You can also assign an item by clicking the assign icon in the content editing window
You can also assign an item by clicking the assign icon in the content editing window

Item assignees are shown in Content Library and are represented by a user's gravatar if they have one, or an icon of their first name and a color chosen at random from a standard set of colors.

Hovering over the assigned to icon will display a popup with the full name of each assignee.

Hovering over an item's assigned to icon in the content library will show the full name of each assignee
Hovering over an item's assigned to icon in the content library will show the full name of each assignee

When viewing content as a grid, the assignee icon is shown on each item's card.

In the grid view the assignee icon is shown on the content card
In the grid view the assignee icon is shown on the content card

Filtering the content library by assignee

You can filter the content library by assignee, allowing you to focus on the content items that you, or other users, are working on. The assignee filter can be combined with other filters such as content status, so you could choose to list items that are marked with a status of "Draft" and which are assigned to the selected user or users, as shown in the example below.

You can filter the content library view by assignee and combine this with other facets such as status
You can filter the content library view by assignee and combine this with other facets such as status

Assigning an item on Save

One way of enhancing your workflow is to assign one or more assignees when you save a content item. In the example below a content item will be assigned to two users when it is saved.

Assignees can be chosen when an item is saved
Assignees can be chosen when an item is saved

Item properties

Assignees are also shown in the item properties pane and reflected in the item's revision history. In the properties pane, the assignee icon and full name are shown and "Me" is used for the current user.

The name of each assignee is shown in an item's properties pane
The name of each assignee is shown in an item's properties pane

Assigning a content item will be listed in the item's revision history but will not generate a new version of the item.

Content item status

Content item properties

Revision history

results matching ""

    No results matching ""