Archiving and unarchiving content
To help you manage and organise your content, you can move any content items you no longer need to the archive folder at the root level of each repository. Archiving a content item does not permanently delete it and you can browse and unarchive content if you need to continue to work with it.
Archiving a content item does not affect any previous work you have done with this content:
- If the content item is published, the published version is still consumed as normal
- Any versions of the content that have been saved to an edition are still available to add to slots and scheduled for publication
- Archived content can no longer be edited, published or copied and does not show up in any search results
To archive a content item, choose "Archive" from the chosen item's card menu or open the content editing window and choose 'Archive' from the Save menu.
In the example shown below, we're choosing to archive "Our Spring Collection".
The item is moved from the current folder ("Summer collection") and a message appears indicating that the archive has been successful.
The item is moved to the archive folder at the root level of this repository. You can still view the content and its revision history from within the archive folder, but it can no longer be modified. If you decide to continue to work with the content, then it must be unarchived.
Archiving linked content
If you archive a content item that is part of a piece of linked content, for example a carousel slide that is added to a carousel, then the archived item will be shown as 'archived' on the editing screen for the parent item. Any item containing archived content cannot be published or saved to an edition.
In the example below, the "Blue shirt carousel image" is archived.
When the editing window for the "Feature carousel" is displayed, the "Blue shirt carousel image" is marked as archived. The item can still be viewed or deleted from the carousel, but publishing the carousel item or saving it to an edition will fail.
If you open the archived content and unarchive it, then the carousel can be successfully published.
Content items in the archive folder can be unarchived from the item's content editing window or by choosing "Unarchive" from the item's contextual menu.
In the example below, we have opened the "Our Spring Collection" content item from the Archive folder. Notice that date and time that the content was archived is shown in the revision history.
To unarchive the item, click the 'Unarchive' button.
The item is successfully unarchived and is moved back to its original folder "Summer collection". If this folder had been deleted after the content was archived, the content would be moved to the root level of the repository.
To unarchive an item from the Content Library, choose "Unarchive" from the item's contextual menu as shown in the image below. The "Summer is here" item will be restored to its previous location in the Content Library.
Slots can also be archived in the same way as content, by selecting a slot item in the Slot Library and choosing "Archive content" from the contextual menu. In the example shown below, the "home page banner slot" item would be moved to the "Archive" folder at the top level of the slots repository.
Archived slots do not show up in the slot browser when adding slots to an edition. An edition that has already been scheduled and contains one or more slots that are later archived can be published, but you will not be able to schedule an edition containing archived slots.