Viewing and editing schemas

On this page we explain how to edit an existing schema and ensure that the updated schema is synced with a content type registered from that schema. We also cover schema versioning and archiving schemas.

Editing a schema

You can edit a schema by double-clicking it in the schema list or choosing "Open" from its contextual menu. In the text block example from the schema editor page we want to edit the "propertyOrder" property to ensure that the properties are shown in the correct order in the content editing form. When you make a change to a schema, make the change and click "Save". If the schema is still valid, your change will be applied.

Editing a schema. Updating the propertyOrder
Editing a schema. Updating the propertyOrder

If you make a change to the schema and you've already used it to register a content type then you need to "sync" the content type with the schema to ensure that the content type uses the latest version.

To update the text block, choose "Sync with schema" from its menu in the content types window.

If you update a schema, you will need to sync its content type with the schema
If you update a schema, you will need to sync its content type with the schema

When the user views or edits content of this type in the production view, the properties are now shown in the correct order.

The content type now uses the updated schema
The content type now uses the updated schema

Note that changing the order of properties in a content type schema will not effect any content already created, but care should be taken when updating a schema. See Syncing a content type with its schema for more information.

Schema versioning

You can view a schema's version history and restore to a previous version. To view the version history for a schema, click the clock icon at the top of the schema window. A list of available versions will be displayed, including information about when a change was made and who made it.

In the example shown below, a property called "categorytext" has been added to the schema and then the schema has been saved. A new version, version 11 has been created.

Click the clock icon to view versions of a schema
Click the clock icon to view versions of a schema

You can select a previous version to view it in read only mode in the schema window. In the example shown below, version 8 of the schema is selected, a version that doesn't include the "categorytext" property. To restore to a selected previous version, click "Restore this version".

Selecting a previous version will display it in read only mode in the schema editor window
Selecting a previous version will display it in read only mode in the schema editor window

When the schema is restored from a previous version, a new version is created. In this example, a new version, version 12 is created, restored from version 8 of the schema.

Restoring from a previous version will create a new version with the contents of the restored version
Restoring from a previous version will create a new version with the contents of the restored version

If a content type has already been registered from this schema, you will need to sync the content type with the schema to ensure it is using the latest version. See Syncing a content type with its schema for more information.

Archiving a schema

To help you manage your list of schemas, you can choose to archive schemas, allowing you to move any schemas that you no longer wish to work with to a separate archive.

To archive a schema, choose "Archive" from the menu in the content type schemas window or open the schema window and choose "Archive" from the Save menu. The schema will be moved to the schema archive.

Click "View archive" at the top of the schema window to open the schema archive.

You can archive a schema from the content type schema list or from the schema window
You can archive a schema from the content type schema list or from the schema window

Once a schema has been archived, it cannot be registered as a content type. However, content types already registered and content created from these content types will not be effected.

Archive schemas are moved to the schema archive
Archive schemas are moved to the schema archive

You can open an archived schema, but it will be read only, as shown in the image below. An archived schema can be unarchived by clicking the "Unarchive" button or choosing "Unarchive" from its contextual menu.

Archived schemas cannot be edited but can be unarchived
Archived schemas cannot be edited but can be unarchived

Syncing a content type with its schema

The Schema Editor

results matching ""

    No results matching ""