Archiving content types

To help manage the content type list, you can move content types that you no longer wish to work with to a separate archive.

Archived content types are not shown in the "Choose a content type" window in the Content Library and so are not available to create new content items. However, existing content items and slots will not be effected and can be edited, published and added to slots in editions as normal.

Archiving and unarchiving a content type

To archive a content type, choose "Archive" from its menu in the content type list. To open the archive window, choose "View archive" at the top of the content types window.

To archive a content type, choose archive from its menu
To archive a content type, choose archive from its menu

The content type will be moved to the archive window. From here you can unarchive the content type to move it back to the content type list.

Archived items can be unarchived so that you can continue to work with them and use them to create content
Archived items can be unarchived so that you can continue to work with them and use them to create content

When you open the content type registration window for an archived content type, it will be displayed in read only mode. You can choose to unarchive the content type by clicking the "Unarchive" button, as highlighted in the image below.

For archived content types, the fields in the register content type window can be viewed but not edited
For archived content types, the fields in the register content type window can be viewed but not edited

Viewing content created from an archived content type

When you view content created from a content type that has subsequently been archived, an archive icon will be shown in the Content Library, either in the content item's card or next to the content type entry in the list view, as shown below.

An archive icon indicates that content has been created from a content type that has now been archived
An archive icon indicates that content has been created from a content type that has now been archived

The archive icon will also be shown when viewing content item properties.

The properties pane also indicates that a content item was created from a content type that has subsequently been archived
The properties pane also indicates that a content item was created from a content type that has subsequently been archived

The archive icon is also shown next to archived slots in the Slot library when you add a slot to an edition in the planning view.

Working with content types

results matching ""

    No results matching ""